New Media/ Digital Marketing Assistant

I was lucky enough to receive my first choice for my ICP placement, at the Manchester Jazz Festival (mjf). I chose this organisation because I didn’t have previous experience working within a festival organisation, and thought that it would be a great opportunity to gain experience that I would be able to take with me post MA study. Also, mjf offered the placement to extend to the full period of the festival, which I was very interested in. The idea of being able to see a project through from realisation to completion appealed to me, particularly something new to my work experience.

What I found incredible was how such a small core team is responsible for such an incredible cultural festival, taking place within across Manchester City Centre.

Whilst working my placement I was not responsible for one single project or task, rather, I worked on a broad range of festival related mini projects alongside other members of the team. Processing the submissions for the festival was probably of the larger tasks that I was responsible for. This did mean a considerable amount of working with spread sheets, and learning how to access the mjf website through wordpress. However in turn I was given first audio access to the submissions for the 2014 festival, which I never imagined I would be able to have. I was relatively unfamiliar with jazz, but what a way to be introduced! This process was crucial in order for the application process to continue, and it really made me feel part of the team.

Seeing the program brochure come together as a result of a collaborative creative team effort was a fulfilling and exciting period. The launch of the brochure was even more exciting, the manifestation of months of hard work coming together.

I would recommend this placement to anyone who wants to gain experience working within a festival who truly prides itself on being true to its mission statement, whilst constantly seeking out its next collaboration or promotion of local regional musicians. The team at mjf were nothing but accommodating and welcoming, ensuring that I was experiencing the working practice of a not-for-profit music festival whilst informing my MA studies.

Other aspects of my placement included liasing with artists, updating social media channels, being present at production meetings, proof reading, redesigning e-bulletins, sourcing and choosing merchandise design and editing mail out lists.

I would recommend this placement to anyone who wants to gain experience working within a festival or cultural organisation who truly prides itself on being true to its mission statement, whilst constantly seeking out its next collaboration or promotion of local regional musicians. The team at mjf were nothing but accommodating and welcoming. They ensured that i was experiencing the working practice of a not-for-profit music festival whilst informing my MA studies. They were aware of my study commitments and were flexible and helpful whenever possible.

