Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Dominique Odain-Hamilton I was born in the lovely city of Leeds, completed my three year undergraduate course at MMU in Cheshire and I am currently studying the Arts Management Policy and Practice (AMPP) MA course in Manchester at the University of Manchester. I am currently in the second semester, and I can honestly say I have enjoyed it.

One of the main reasons for picking the MA was the descriptions I read. I thought about applying for an events management course. Then I came across arts management, when reading the description and visiting the university. I just knew I would engage with the AMPP course more than any of the events course I had seen.

Untitled
A workplace selfie

The placement unit was eye catching because of the work experience aspect. At the start of semester two we were provided with a list of organisations that we could pick from. As my interests are in dance and business, majority of the placements catered to my business interests but not my dance. However this was not a problem because I was able to arrange my own placement with whatever company I wanted. That is only if they accepted my proposal. The dance touring company, Company Chameleon became my host organisation. I knew the company was created by two Mancunian artists, and I had a conversation with one of them at a careers fair I attend in my last year at Cheshire.  We talked about dance for ages so I knew there was passion for dance in this company. During my placement one of my tasks was to help distribute a questionnaire at the penultimate and final performance of ‘Witness’. Witness is a contemporary dance piece that toured nationally from September –November 2016. With its last two performances at The Lowry, the task required me to arrive early to collect a badge some programme notes and questionnaires. The programme notes were to be handed out before the performance and questionnaires after. We managed to hand out quite a large amount of questionnaires both nights, however we could have finished them if we adjusted some of our methods. Personally the questionnaire that was finalised and printed in my opinion was too long. Originally the company asked me to update the questionnaire that fits on to an A4 piece of paper. After negotiating with the team and looking at templates the questionnaire ended up being two sided. Personally I do not like filling out questionnaires, If they do not look like they are going to take less than 3 minutes, this was the point I stressed to the team but the majority felt they needed it two sided. The majority vote won, but when handing the questionnaires out a lot of them were given back once they realised it was double sided. Another implication when handing the questionnaires out was the limited amount of pens. This was another key reason why questionnaires were not being completed. I also believe some questionnaires were refused simply because it was not a digital format. Helen Nixon (2003) proposes that forces such as ICTs are now so deeply embedded in our daily lives—at home, work, and school—that in many places they are shaping a ‘‘new landscape of communication’’ and ‘‘new learning environments.’ (Cameron and Kenderdine, 2010). I believe this is true and genuinely believe some people, were offended by me asking them to put a pen to paper. From this experience alone I have I learnt to always come equipped and within a team you have to be prepare to compromise, so decision can be made.

